County Board

The Boone County Board is comprised of 12 elected members, four members from each of the three districts in Boone County. The Chair and Vice Chair are elected by the members of the board. Board Members terms are two or four years. County Board minutes and records are kept by the County Clerk. Standing Committee minutes and records are kept by the Administration Office. Placement on standing committees is determined by the Board Chair. All committee meetings are open to the public, except for Closed Session. The public is encouraged to attend. 

The Boone County Board is the legislative body responsible for policy decisions related to operating County government.  Boone County utilizes the Committee of the Whole (COTW)structure in which a legislative body or other deliberative assembly is considered one large committee. All members of the legislative body are members of such a committee. This is usually done for the purposes of discussion and debate on a variety of issues.  Instrumental in this task are the functions of the two standing committees of the Board.

  • COTW - Administrative & Legislative Committee
  • COTW - Finance, Taxation & Salaries Committee

See the Boone County Board District Map to find out what district you are in, or check your voter registration card.

County Board Members :


District Name Address Email Phone
District 1 Marshall Newhouse  13407 Capron Rd., Capron, IL 61012 (815) 569-2248
District 1 Denny Ellingson 22931 Poplar Grove Road (815) 703-5461
District 1 Sherry Giesecke 20760 Poplar Grove Road (815) 721-0894
District 1 Raymond Larson 11221 US Highway (815) 597-1040
District 2 Bernie O'Malley 1923 Riverside Road (815) 544-5149
District 2 Jeffrey Carlisle 203 Secretariats Way (317) 258-2151
District 2 Karl Johnson (Chair) 10500 Saddle Path Road (815) 885-4613
District 2 Ryan Curry 1212 Logan Avenue, Suite 102 (815) 985-0676
District 3 Cherie Bartelt 2200 Sunrise Drive (815) 985-4026
District 3 Carl Larson 2106 N. State Street (815) 814-7321
District 3 Jessica Muellner 903 Garfield Avenue (779) 770-9932
District 3 Bill Roberston 1027 South State Street (815) 544-9664